Saturday 8 April

Si17 Symposium on Sound and Movement

The theme of the Si17 is analysed, kneaded, and served up hot by invited artists and researchers, with added spices from their own diverse backgrounds and point of view. Papers include:

The papers are followed by a panel and Q&A, moderated by Dr Stephanie Burridge, with all the Si17 artist-researchers.

pieceStephanie Burridge (PhD) lectures at LASALLE College of the Arts and Singapore Management University and is the Research and Documentation Network Co-Chair for World Dance Alliance Asia Pacific. She was Artistic Director of Canberra Dance Theater (1978-2001) where she created over 40 works and was awarded the first Fellowship at the Australian Choreographic Center.  She is a researcher, writer and critic and the Series Editor of the Routledge Celebrating Dance in Asia and the Pacific books amongst others. Her choreographic and research projects have been supported by the Australia Council, National Arts Council (Singapore) and the Singapore International Foundation.



Jeremy Chua is a Singaporean producer/writer based in Singapore and Paris. Since graduating from Puttnam School of Film at LASALLE College of the Arts Singapore in 2012, he has frequently collaborated with Akanga Film Asia and is co-developing Cinema, City and Cats by Ishtiaque Zico (Locarno Open Doors Hub 2016) and Tomorrow is a long time by Jow Zhi Wei (Jerusalem International Film Lab 2016) with producer Fran Borgia. Since 2014, he started his own company, Potocol, which has co-produced A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery by Lav Diaz (Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize, Berlinale Competition 2016), A Yellow Bird by K. Rajagopal (Cannes Critics Week 2016) and Brotherhood by Pepe Diokno (Karlovy Vary IFF 2016). In 2015, Jeremy co-founded the artist platform Cinemovement with Elysa Wendi to develop dance films. He is currently developing You are there by Nicole Woodford (SEAFIC 2017) and Family Event by Ying Liang. In 2017, he was selected as one of Berlinale Talents and came runner-up for the VFF Talent Highlight Award.